School Counseling

Counselor_Page

School counselors within KCS work to support academic, social and personal development to promote healthy and responsible students.  They also help identify and address problems that may interfere with learning and the classroom environment.  The counseling program at each school is designed to meet the unique needs of that specific student population.  Counselors can provide individual or group counseling services based on students' needs.  Career and college preparation and readiness are also a part of the KCS counseling programs.  Scholarship and financial aid information can be obtained by contacting the A.L. Brown High School guidance department. 

School counselors adhere to the North Carolina Guidance Essential Standards, adopted by the State Board of Education in October 2011.  These standards can be found at http://www.ncpublicschools.org/acre/standards/new-standards/ 

Counselors are trained to assist students with complex issues that may impact their academic, social and personal development.  Parents are encouraged to contact school counselors for assistance.  The counseling staff can also provide information and referrals for more intensive clinical services as needed.



KCS School Counseling Staff

Name(Click on name for link to webpage) Phone Number
Location email address
Susan Puckett 704.932.8121 Forest Park Elementary susan.puckett@kcs.k12.nc.us
Jessica Patton 704.932.8656 Fred L. Wilson Elementary jessica.patton@kcs.k12.nc.us
Jasmine Goldman 704.933.2831 Jackson Park Elementary jasmine.goldman@kcs.k12.nc.us
Donna Gerdes 704.933.2434 Shady Brook Elementary donna.gerdes@kcs.k12.nc.us
Kim Cibak 704.933.2935 Woodrow Wilson Elementary kim.cibak@kcs.k12.nc.us
Kristen Langolf 704.932.4161 G.W. Carver Elementary Kristen.langolf@kcs.k12.nc.us

Jennifer Clarkin
Danah Hughes

Kristen Logan
704.932.4102 Kannapolis Middle School jennifer.clarkin@kcs.k12.nc.us
danah.hughes@kcs.k12.nc.us
kristen.logan@kcs.k12.nc.us

Garrett Deal
Barry Lipscomb
Angela Ward (Behavioral Health)

Crystal Alexander

704.932.6125 A. L. Brown High School
garrett.deal@kcs.k12.nc.us
barry.lipscomb@kcs.k12.nc.us
angela.ward@kcs.k12.nc.us
crystal.alexander@kcs.k12.nc.us
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.